Connecticut Residents Can Now Apply For Temporary Jobs To Assist With Sandy Recovery

December 4, 2012
By

Governor Dannel P. Malloy today announced that residents can now contact the Connecticut Department of Labor (CTDOL) for information on potential temporary employment opportunities related to Storm Sandy recovery efforts under a program developed in cooperation with federal partners utilizing a $1.8 million federal grant the state received in the aftermath of the storm.

“In addition to temporarily hiring those who have been dislocated or are unemployed, this federal grant will assist the state and our cities and towns in rebuilding in the wake of this devastating storm,” Governor Malloy said.

Under the terms of the federal grant, applicants must be unemployed as a result of Storm Sandy, or they must have been unemployed prior to the storm and no longer receiving unemployment benefits or other income supports.  The grant allows Connecticut to fund approximately 120 positions for up to 20 weeks for clean-up, demolition, repair, renovation, and reconstruction of destroyed public structures, facilities, and lands within affected communities.  Temporary jobs may also include working on projects that provide food, clothing, shelter and other humanitarian assistance for disaster victims.

CTDOL Commissioner Sharon M. Palmer said, “In partnership with FEMA, our local municipalities, the state’s Emergency Management Office and regional Workforce Investment Boards, we are identifying relief, restoration and clean-up projects that meet the criteria of the grant, and taking information from residents who may also meet the federal guidelines.”

Residents interested in a temporary position should email their closest CTWorks Career Center and provide their name, address, phone number, email address and current employment status.  CTWorks Career Center contact information can be downloaded on CTDOL’s website at www.ct.gov/dol by clicking on the “Storm Sandy temporary employment opportunities” link, and is also available here:

 

CT Contacts for Storm Sandy Temporary Employment Opportunities
CTWorks Office Contact Email Address
Bridgeport Stephanie James stephanie.james@ct.gov
  Mary Malenda mary.malenda@ct.gov
Danielson Mark Fillmore mark.fillmore@ct.gov
Enfield Karen Quesnel karen.quesnel@ct.gov
Hamden Tony Harris anthony.harris@ct.gov
Hartford Donna Smith donna.smith@ct.gov
Meriden Karl Eckert karl.eckert@ct.gov
New Britain Carl Walczewski carl.walczewski@ct.gov
New London Garth Swaby garth.swaby@ct.gov
Norwich Garth Swaby garth.swaby@ct.gov
Waterbury Steve Romano stephen.romano@ct.gov
Willimantic Mark Fillmore mark.fillmore@ct.gov

Similar Posts:

Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





c-hit logo